Just in Case, this is Your FIRST time

“You are living your dream.”  One of my best friends just recently reminded me of this and they are 100% correct.  This is my dream.  Writing is what I have always wanted to do, and I am now 6 months into my journey.  I have journals since I was a teenager and college creative writing course papers’ that commend my passion, but remind me, I have a lot of work to do in polishing my energies. My Nana used to have a stone polisher?

In my own environment, I am not a shy girl, but when it comes to writing EVERY insecurity possibly known to mankind comes to the surface; shortness of breath, shaking, slurred speech, cold sweats and talking faster than a speeding bullet.

Here comes my first big piece of advice, something I even taught my kids, “Life is an acting job.”  This comes in handy when you are at your most vulnerable. And, I learned this again after this past summer’s conference.  The second snippet of wisdom is, “Be Remembered.”  Thank you Sandi!

I think I accomplished this in all the wrong ways…wah, wanh, wah!  I promise… my second time, I will be sooo much better.  🙂

And so…here we go…My first experience pitching to agents…Need I remind you, I have never had a problem making a fool of myself and owning it like a true professional.

  1. 10 minutes is a long, painstaking time to make a complete ID 10 T of yourself.  Even if your acting is polished where your writing is not.
  2. Know your genre.  You must know this so you can pitch to the right agents of that subclass and as Sandi has explained can be a difference of agency opinion. I, unfortunately, believed my genre was Romantic Fantasy, GONG!  I was quickly informed it is Paranormal Romance, that trended to be the going theme, and so, I am running with it.
  3. Do your research on who you are pitching to and what they are specifically looking for. You must go beyond the conference bio’s.  I had the pleasure of sitting with a nice gentleman whose genre base could not have been further from that of my manuscript, (Has anyone heard of graphic novel? Yeah, me either until that most unfortunate moment.) F M L, serious typo in the conference documents.  Too bad for slimy handed, good smelling, stuttering moi’, but I did remember to bring my best smile and polite exit.  No, I didn’t get my money back.
  4. If you are writing romance and seeking representation from an agent, your manuscript must be a minimum of 80,000 words, or they will blankly wonder why you are sitting in front of them, mine was 65,000, much better to have to add to a story, than to trim off.  I think I threw up in my throat a little.
  5. Self-publishing has a completely different rule book.  1 stumbling step at a time.

And all this, only 30 minutes of a 3 day event.  Life is good.

11 thoughts on “Just in Case, this is Your FIRST time

  1. I have been in many professions in my life,to me they are all the same,not all success is wealth,and not all wealth is success,when the need is great ,your needs will be met,you keep writing and I will read
    The first great step is to follow your dream and to listen to no one
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been writing all my life,I am a poet,and artist,and at times I will post some of my short stories,my work is mostly from life experiences,as well as my art which is collages,I live in the shadows of my words,though there are times I can walk in the lite,I am always glad to meet new people and look forward to talking with you more
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a “hit on the head” story. My wife could have written this post. She too has been writing since she was a teenager and now she so much wants to publish a book. She is in a writer group now and comes back each week frustrated because they did not like how she wrote. She is a good writer, but I believe she is in the wrong group. I will follow your page and watch how your journey goes and if you don’t mind I would love to share this post on my blog. Me, I’m a positive thinking motivator just in love with life! Have a Wonderful Day!! Jim

    Liked by 1 person

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

