Who Would Have Ever Thought…

Who would have ever thought you could be so excited to receive criticism?  Constructive criticism that is! It has been 2 painful months of waiting for feedback from an agency that specifically is going to critique my Query Letter, Synopsis, and the first three chapters of my novel!!  (I am screaming; can you hear it?)

Through Writers Digest I attended a webinar, specifically, “How to Avoid Rookie Mistakes When Submitting to Agents.”  The course was $89.99 and offered these 3 all critical feedbacks.  I have, of course, in that painfully long amount of time, re-written most of it.  But to see if the changes I have made are in the right direction is kil – ling me!

I have seen similar webinars and professional feed-backs that are much more expensive, and this was an offer too good to pass up.  I also admire the agency who offered the course.  The information stated our material would be sent back by 3-29-15, but that was yesterday, a Sunday, so I am giving them until Monday, today, as the actual end date.  We all make mistakes, right?

One would fret, “Did they receive my material at all?”  Well, I know that they did because I got an e-mail, dutifully archived, from the agent replying my submission was received.  From this past Friday until the end of business today: (8 p.m.?) I have been jumping back and forth from multiple e-mails to see if this gem of disappointment has finally arrived.

If by the end of the week I still have not received my packet should I call them?  The last thing I need to do is make a bigger fool of myself than I already have a tendency to do.  Face to the sun I am smiling bright, big-red-felt marker bring it on!

Keep writing, ❤ Jessica

11 thoughts on “Who Would Have Ever Thought…

  1. Maybe you should keep your options open and send to other places too? I don’t think I would only rely on one company. Just keep doing research on other places and don’t give up. I know they all have their own guidelines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is a specific critique on the materials I am sending out to agents and publishers. A very needed insight on what they see when receiving my query and synopsis. The one thing I have definitely learned is my eggs are in many baskets! This is much appreciated advice.

      Liked by 1 person

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

