January Critique FINALLY Received … Query and 1st 1000 Words

After the desperate, painful months of waiting; like a hopeful child for the day of their birth, diligently marking off 364 individual days, to finally arrive, and the subsequent let down to occur: the e-mail magically appeared in my in-box and vanished of the same fashion.

cri·tique

kriˈtēk/

noun 1.a detailed analysis and assessment of something, especially a literary, philosophical, or political theory.

(I believe it is the word detailed that has me thrown, let’s check that out…)

de·tailed

dəˈtāld,ˈdēˌtāld/

adjective 1.having many details or facts; showing attention to detail.

Yes, that is the clincher, having many details.  I would pain you and look up many, but I will not.

I should be the gracious receiver, that my friend encourages me to be, but I am reminded that this was a critique in which I paid monies to, to further enrich and expand in a craft I have chosen to excel and be competent.  I received approximately 5 quick blurbs, not even full sentences. 

The short, short of the not-so-long of it is…Don’t be choppy, use varied sentence styles, but in this key, compact version in the middle of your query, keep sentences flowing with rich detailed information and, most importantly, set your HOOK.  You were able to break your manuscript into a 2 page synopsis, now break your synopsis into a single paragraph and then into a single barbed sentence.  Armed with this bit of tackle, we will now be ready for pitch wars. 

On the last page of my manuscript sample were the words, “Terrific, great set-up, I wanted to keep reading.”  

In which, if we had not already been playing e-mail pong, I should have responded, “I would gladly send you my full.”

Write on!  

4 thoughts on “January Critique FINALLY Received … Query and 1st 1000 Words

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

