Ghost Writers

A comment from Thursday’s blog post has promoted several questions about who, why, and how do ghost writers write with an author. Yes, I understand that memoirs are a viable reason to have a ghost writer—but aren’t those people acknowledged by the one whose story is being told?

My major reason for questioning anonymous authorship is why? Money, of course! Beyond that motivation, how does it feel to  have another author take credit for your words? (The money must be substantial.) Is a ghost writer another writer with works of his or hers? And then, how do famous authors choose them to cowrite.

My intrigue jumps in with a vision of a darkened room at the back of a bar and the two meeting to discuss terms. Ha!

Do any of you know a ghost writer that is not acknowledged formally by the author? How does this operation develop between the two?  I can understand the motivation of a best selling author— get that money maker book out and reap the rewards. But my own ego wonders why a competent writer is likewise motivated? That tells you a lot about me, doesn’t it.

Thanks for following,

Sandi (see, I want you to know that this is my commentary. Ego, I guess!)

8 thoughts on “Ghost Writers

  1. I’ve done some content writing/copy writing. I was glad to stretch my writing skills. Still, you have me thinking… I can do book work and housework for others in a fraction of the time it takes them. When it comes to my work, like some of my manuscripts, emotions play in and bog me down sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting post. I don’t think I would want to be a ghost writer or use the services of one. I think they would haunt my every word. It must be a bit like being a spy. You don’t exist officially. Imagine if Shakespeare used a ghost writer. Some say he did.

    Like

  3. I would consider it for the money, and would be relieved that someone else was responsible for all the promotion, but if it proved to be my bestseller by a long shot, it might sting a little.

    Liked by 2 people

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

