Write What you Know

Write What you Know.

I hear that specific tidbit of advice from many critics and fellow authors. That’s all well and good if your novel is based on a familiar setting or characters. I am taking a detour from my project about Lippizan horses during World War II to try to jumpstart that project by writing from my own trough of happenings.

Heck! It’s more fun to write about my lost cat from his point of view rather than my own. The guffaws I’ve gotten when I tell others the extreme lengths I went to find him prompted this approach.

Those of you who love cats understand their disdainful view of the world:

Certainly don’t come when called— that’s for dumb dogs. Give dogs a treat and they’ll do anything their humans want.

Figure out what really bugs your owner and do it! Scratch on the furniture even when you have a fancy store bought one with catnip smeared on it. (You can sneak back when no one’s looking for the nip.)

Be clever to make them guess what you want. If you don’t get it, a favorite strategy is to wake them at some ungodly hour. Note, the exact time will vary with your owner.

When in doubt, act like you don’t care what crud you’re being fed by licking your butt. Let it stand uneaten for a few days. Trust me, they’ll get the message. Indifference puts owners in their place.

These approaches remind them who’s really in charge. Hel-lo.

We moved and now face box upon box to unpack and place in a designated new space. I’m still in shock and my “write what you know” is helping me get adjusted.

Try it, you might like it.

Thanks for following.

Sandi

 

 

2 thoughts on “Write What you Know

  1. Hilarious! If someone who had never seen a cat read this post, they’d wonder why anyone, ANYONE, would ever want one.

    Me – I’m a dog lover. When I walk through the door I want someone to jump on me, shower me with kisses, and follow me everywhere.

    Liked by 2 people

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

