A Gripe…

I apologize right off the bat— this is my frustration of living in our modern world. Common courtesy” isn’t common anymore. What happened to looking people in the eye and returning a smile when you are the only two people passing each other?

Granted, the rules are different in the frantic activity of a big city. I live in a small tourist area where the population blooms with folks during “the season.” Our little city becomes an engorged population of 5 times the off-season number. The stark difference from these two times is phenomenal. A pervasive tension is now here and won’t be leaving anytime soon.

Anonymity is a contributing factor: “I’ll never see you again” attitude, and, perhaps a little, “Don’t you know who I am?” or “I’m on vacation.” Whatever the reasons for common rudeness, it adds more negativity to the people around them.

I’m working on giving people an excuse, but tailgating is a tough one for me. It’s the height of arrogance and/or anger for my experience. Believe me, I’m a sometimes contributor to that behavior. I know I’m not spreading sweetness and light as my colleague, Jessica does. I yearn for a gentle, respectful time.

I’m imploring all of us, including myself, to think a moment about where we are and with whom we are interacting. Be polite—please. Ripples on the water, ripples on the water.

Thanks to those who have indulged my tirade

Sandi

 

4 thoughts on “A Gripe…

  1. Oh, I become a complete ogress when I get behind the wheel of a car. Why is it the nicest people become jackasses in cars? Is it because they’re delusional and think they’re in a world of their own?

    Yes, I agree, Sandi, that anonymity contributes to rudeness. However, there are so many instances where people you know (and are likely related to) are rude because they don’t connect. How many times have you sent a gift of money in a birthday card and never received an acknowledgement–not even a text message? I am a firm believer that what goes around, comes around. A person’s behavior, especially toward strangers and especially toward those who seem less fortunate, will be rewarded or punished somewhere down the line.

    (Hmm. I think I’m doing Rant 1.1. 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandi, Ive been guilty of and victim to the current lack of civility in these times. Everything is just too fast and it’s like we are all in each others way. Plus there is a frightening undercurrent of politics derailed that has contributed to a collective anger and angst. That being said, your post is a reminder that what we all long for connecting and kindness. A smile, a compliment, a door held open without any attachment to the response is what we can all aspire to. We are all, after all, on the same space ship together. Now what to do about the tailgating–you got me! Biggest of hugs and thanks for writing.

    Liked by 1 person

We encourage all lighthearted banter...

